Costume Designers Guild Nominations: Nein Inglourious

Yes, amazingly, Anna B. Sheppard’s much talked about work on Inglourious Basterds has been overlooked by the Costume Designers Guild (CDG). Though this is not the only surprise announcement…

Marina Draghici has been given the nod for Precious, which is perhaps a shock considering the very ordinary, albeit period, costumes worn by the cast (including queen diva Mariah Carey no less). Yet this is what costume design is all about; sometimes intentionally visible, sometimes intentionally invisible. The Costume Designers Guild, and this is reassuring given their name, can clearly tell the difference.

The CDG separate their nominations into three categories: Period, Contemporary and Fantasy. Inglourious Basterds is the obviously controversial omission in the Period category, though Jenny Beaven has justifiably been nominated for her bustle and stiff collars contribution to Sherlock Holmes.

Alongside Precious in the Contemporary category is Jason Alper for Brüno, pretty much the exact opposite of the former, and Danny Glicker for Up in the Air, George Clooney’s recently released Oscar hopeful.

In Fantasy we have a welcome nod for Avatar with Mayes C. Rubeo and Deborah Lynn Scott taking front page credit in a technically ambitious project involving numerous technicians and CAD artists.

Also worth mentioning is The Young Victoria’s costume designer Sandy Powell receiving the Lacoste Career Achievement in Film Award and star Emily Blunt taking home the Swarovski Award. In TV, Janie Bryant again leads the field for Mad Men in Period/Fantasy, while Lou Eyrich seems a strong bet for Glee in Contemporary.

Check out the complete list below and make your own assumptions:

Excellence in Contemporary Film:

(500) Days of Summer – Hope Hanafin

Brüno – Jason Alper

Crazy Heart – Doug Hall

Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire – Marina Draghici

Up in the Air – Danny Glicker

Excellence in Period Film:

Coco Before Chanel – Catherine Leterrier

Julie & Julia – Ann Roth

Nine – Colleen Atwood

Sherlock Holmes – Jenny Beavan

The Young Victoria – Sandy Powell

Excellence in Fantasy Film:

Avatar – Mayes C. Rubeo & Deborah Lynn Scott

The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus – Monique Prudhomme

Star Trek – Michael Kaplan

Outstanding Made for Television Movie or Miniseries:

Georgia O’Keeffe – Michael Dennison

Grey Gardens – Catherine Marie Thomas

Little Dorrit – Barbara Kidd

Outstanding Contemporary Television Series:

Big Love – Chrisi Karvonides-Dushenko

Glee – Lou Eyrich

Dancing with the Stars – Randall Christensen

No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency – Jo Katsaras

Ugly Betty – Patricia Field

Outstanding Period/Fantasy Television Series:

Mad Men – Janie Bryant

True Blood – Audrey Fisher

The Tudors – Joan Bergin

Excellence in Commercial Costume Design:

Milk: ‘Milkquarious’ – Casey Storm

Hopefully soon the CDG will start honouring costume design for video games. One only needs to spend ten minutes playing Assassin’s Creed 2 or The Saboteur to see how far the medium has come.

The Costume Designers Guild Award winners are announced at a ceremony on 25th February.

Source: The Costume Designers Guild

© 2010 – 2014, Lord Christopher Laverty.