Costume Designers Guild Nominations: 2011 | Clothes on Film

© 2011 Chris Laverty. All rights reserved. the-social-network-5

21 Jan ’11 Filed under News. Tagged Alonzo Wilson, Amy Westcott, Black Swan, Boardwalk Empire, Burlesque, CGC, Colleen Atwood, Costume Designers Guild, Demi Moore, Eat Pray Love, Ellen Mirojnick, Halle Berry, Jacqueline West, Janie Bryant, Jenny Beavan, John Dunn, Julia Roberts, Lacoste Spotlight Award, Mad Men, Mark Bridges, Michael Dennison, Penny Rose, The Fighter, The Kings Speech, The Social Network, Treme, Tron Legacy, True Grit. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment. Leave a Trackback (URL).

So, the Costume Designers Guild (CDG) has served up their nominations for this year. Apart from falling short on numbers in a couple of categories, the line-up is predictably safe.

Excellence in Contemporary Film

Black Swan – Amy Westcott
Burlesque – Michael Kaplan
Inception – Jeffrey Kurland
The Social Network – Jacqueline West
Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps – Ellen Mirojnick

There has been recent hoopla in the press regarding Rodarte’s overall involvement with the costume design for Black Swan, though the Costume Designers Guild will be unlikely to run scared. Shouldn’t The Social Network strictly be in the Period category, however? Jacqueline West went to extraordinary lengths to ensure the film was historically accurate, something often harder to achieve when the setting is recent.


Excellence in Period Film

The Fighter – Mark Bridges
The King’s Speech – Jenny Beavan
True Grit – Mary Zophres

It would be wonderful to see Mark Bridges’ largely (and criminally) ignored work for The Fighter get some recognition. Check out a revealing interview with the man himself at FrockTalk.

Excellence in Fantasy Film

Alice in Wonderland – Colleen Atwood
The Tempest – Sandy Powell
TRON: Legacy – Michael Wilkinson & Christine Bieselin Clark

Sandy Powell is a name most of us are used to hearing around award time, as is Colleen Atwood. Will the amazing technical achievements of Michael Wilkinson & Christine Bieselin Clark for Tron Legacy be enough to change the status quo?

Outstanding Contemporary Television Series

Big Love – Chrisi Karvonides-Dushenko
Dancing with the Stars – Randall Christensen, Daniella Gschwendtner & Steven Norman Lee
Glee – Lou Eyrich
Modern Family – Alix Friedberg
Treme – Alonzo Wilson

Lou Eyrich for Glee is perhaps the obvious choice, yet there has been quiet chatter of Alonzo Wilson’s meticulous design for Treme receiving some acknowledgment too.


Outstanding Period/Fantasy Television Series

Boardwalk Empire – John A. Dunn
Mad Men – Janie Bryant
The Tudors – Joan Bergin

John Dunn was responsible for the original Mad Men pilot so, in a sense, is up against his own monster here. Boardwalk Empire is an extraordinary accomplishment though and could certainly take the prize.

Outstanding Made for Television Movie or Mini Series

The Pacific – Penny Rose
Temple Grandin – Cindy Evans
You Don’t Know Jack – Rita Ryack

It would be a fool that did not consider Penny Rose a front runner in this category. She also worked with Joe Hobbs on several episodes of The Pacific, who oversaw accuracy of the military costumes.

Excellence in Commercial Costume Design

Chanel – Bleu de Chanel – Aude Bronson-Howard
Dior – Charlize Theron – J’Adore – Lisa Michelle Boyd
Dos Equis – The Most Interesting Man in the World – Julie Vogel
Netflix – Western – Lydia Paddon
Target – Preparing for Race/Black Friday – Michelle Martini

The busy Dos Equis ads by Julie Vogel are off the charts cool. Not generally reason enough to win an award but at least more people would discover them. Stay Thirsty.


The CDG awards will be hosted by Kristin Davis (Sex and the City) at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles on 22nd February. Michael Dennison is to be inducted posthumously into the Guild’s Hall of Fame. His most recent best known credit was for Eat Pray Love (2010) starring Julia Roberts. A Distinguished Collaborator Award will be bestowed on director Joel Schumacher.

Presenters at the ceremony include Demi Moore and Ashton Kutcher introducing a montage for Julie Weiss, to be honoured with the Career Achievement in Film and Television Award. The award itself will be offered by Robert Duvall and Billy Bob Thornton.

Oscar winning actress Halle Berry will be given a Lacoste Spotlight Award for her “enduring commitment to excellence”, according to the Guild. She will also attend the ceremony.

Source: The Hollywood Reporter

Read Guy Lodge’s interesting thoughts on the CDG nominations at In Contention

© 2011, Chris Laverty.

Related Posts: